Quotation Author PortraitAt its heart, the CVSC Ed Fund is about empowerment, whether to an individual or an organization. 99% of us make South Carolina our home because of the unmatched beauty of our natural landscapes. CVSC is the most effective organization in our state in bringing our voices together to keep what we love unharmed. It is vital that we have the tools available to make everyone's voice heard in protecting our beautiful state.
- Cynthia Powell, Board Member

Akin Watson, Irmo, Board Chair: Watson is a native of Saluda and is currently the President of AllCaregivers Inc. He is also on the board of SC Home Care and Hospice Association. Watson earned his B.S. in Mathematics & Computer Programming from UCLA and his MBA from the Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina.

Lauren McClary, North Charleston, Vice Chair: McClary is an attorney in North Charleston.  McClary earned her B.S. from Vanderbilt University and her J.D. from the University of South Carolina Law School.

Wilkins Byrd, Aiken, Secretary/Treasurer: Wilkins is an attorney. He also serves as Chairman of the Aiken Planning Commission and is on the Board of Directors of the Aiken Land Conservancy.

Emma Ruth Brittain, Myrtle Beach: Brittain is an attorney in Myrtle Beach. Brittain earned her B.A. in History from Furman University and her J.D. from the University of South Carolina Law School

Arnold Nemirow, Charleston: Arnie is the former Chairman, President and CEO of Bowater Inc., a major pulp and paper manufacturer in North America and South Korea; retired in 2006, he has served on various non-profit boards and was Chair of The Nature Conservancy of SC from 2009-2012.

Jennie Peze, Darlington: Jennie is a project manager for the City of Florence’s local foods initiative. She is the former executive director of the Pee Dee Land Trust and a 2011 Liberty Fellow.